Get a free auto quote
Simply enter the zip code where you live:
Yes No
Yes No

Virginia Auto Insurance Requirements and Coverage - Virginia Beach

This information is complied and provided by SegurosDeAutos.com.

The leading resources for the Spanish language community, SegurosDeAutos.com takes the lead in providing access to the best companies that provide Auto Insurance for the Latino Communityâ„ . With access to the top auto insurance providers in every state, SegurosDeAutos.com makes it easy for anyone to find low cost auto insurance on line using the Internet access device of your choice.

The simplest way to keep your car insurance rates low is by driving safely and obeying all traffic laws. At Find the leading auto insurance companies, with great service, low rates and flexible payment plans at SegurosDeAutos.com, the specialty company providing easy access to the Spanish language market.

Virginia Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles

Paying the UMV fee is a quick solution to meeting the requirements for vehicle registration, but it doesn’t offer any financial protection. This is why most owners opt to purchase liability insurance.

To meet the state’s liability insurance requirements, your policy must include:

  1. $25,000 of coverage for bodily injury or death of one person
  2. $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people
  3. $20,000 for property damage

You might also want to take it a step further and research the additional types of coverage available with traditional auto insurance policies.

Electronic Reporting

The DMV uses an electronic reporting method to keep track of insurance policies in the state. If you purchase a new policy, or alter or cancel your existing policy, your insurance carrier will electronically notify the DMV.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

The DMV keeps electronic records of the insurance policies for all the vehicles registered in the state; however, you need to keep a copy of the insurance information your carrier issues you in your vehicle at all times.

Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility

Once you register your vehicle, you must maintain continuous financial responsibility for it at all times―even if it becomes inoperable. If the DMV or a law enforcement officer catches you with no proof of insurance, you could face:

  1. Having your driver’s license, registration certificate, and license plates suspended.
  2. Paying $500 statutory fee and any other fees associated with license and registration reinstatement.
  3. Filing a financial responsibility insurance certificate (SR-22) with the DMV for three years.

You can call the DMV at (866) DMVLINE (368-5463) or (800) 435-5137 for additional information about financial responsibility requirements and the steps you need to take if your license and registration are suspended due to having no proof of insurance.

Driving Rules for Older Drivers

Licenses are renewed every eight years. Starting at age 80, drivers must renew in person and pass an eye test or present proof of a recent vision exam.

Let SegurosDeAutos.com take the guesswork out of finding the right Auto Insurance.

Home | About Auto Insurance | Other Auto Services | Free Quote | File Claim | Blog | Sitemap
Car Insurance Requirements and Coverage
Copyright © 2015 Insurance Resources International, LLC, All Rights Reserved.
Web and Marketing Solution Created and Maintained by WSI Pro Marketing.