Get a free auto quote
Simply enter the zip code where you live:
Yes No
Yes No

New York Auto Insurance Requirements and Coverage - Buffalo

This information is complied and provided by SegurosDeAutos.com.

The leading resources for the Spanish language community, SegurosDeAutos.com takes the lead in providing access to the best companies that provide Auto Insurance for the Latino Community‚Ą†. With access to the top auto insurance providers in every state, SegurosDeAutos.com makes it easy for anyone to find low cost auto insurance on line using the Internet access device of your choice.

The simplest way to keep your car insurance rates low is by driving safely and obeying all traffic laws. At Find the leading auto insurance companies, with great service, low rates and flexible payment plans at SegurosDeAutos.com, the specialty company providing easy access to the Spanish language market.

In New York, you are required to have several types of car insurance. Luckily, you can get a discount on your car insurance premium just for taking a driver safety class.

Car Insurance Requirements

New York mandates that all registered vehicles in the state carry the following:

  1. Liability car insurance.
  2. No-fault auto insurance.
  3. Uninsured motorist insurance.

Liability Insurance

Your liability car insurance policy must have the following minimums:

  1. $25,000 for injuries to one person.
  2. $50,000 for injuries to multiple people.
  3. $50,000 for death to one person.
  4. $100,000 for death to multiple people.
  5. $10,000 for property damage.

Liability car insurance only pays for accident-related damages and injuries you caused to someone else. Liability does not cover your own personal costs.

You can often obtain a discount on your insurance rates by taking a certified safe driving class.

No-Fault Insurance

New York also requires that you have no-fault coverage, which helps you with costs after an accident regardless of who was at fault

New York basic no-fault coverage includes a limit of $50,000 per person to cover the following:

  1. Your accident-related medical expenses.
  2. 80% of lost income due to injuries from a car accident, with a limit of $2,000 per month for up to 3 years.
  3. Up to $25 a day for expenses such as household help (for up to 1 year from the date of the accident).
  4. A $2,000 death benefit on top of the $50,000 limit.

No-fault insurance will cover your medical costs after an accident before your health insurance. If your medical costs exceed your no-fault coverage limit, your health insurance will then kick in.

Uninsured Motorists Coverage

In New York, you are also required to have uninsured motorists coverage to cover costs relating to injuries resulting from a car accident. The minimum uninsured coverage you must have for bodily injury is:

  1. $25,000 for injuries to one person.
  2. $50,000 for injuries to multiple people.

Uninsured drivers coverage will not cover property damage.

Driving Rules for Older Drivers

Licenses last eight years, with no special provisions for older drivers.

The Department of Motor Vehicles can re-evaluate a driver of any age based on a specific reason, such as a driving incident or action reported by a doctor, police officer or observer. It also can restrict licenses to such things as daylight driving only.

 

Let SegurosDeAutos.com take the guesswork out of finding the right Auto Insurance.

Home | About Auto Insurance | Other Auto Services | Free Quote | File Claim | Blog | Sitemap
Car Insurance Requirements and Coverage
Copyright © 2015 Insurance Resources International, LLC, All Rights Reserved.
Web and Marketing Solution Created and Maintained by WSI Pro Marketing.