Get a free auto quote
Simply enter the zip code where you live:
Yes No
Yes No

Colorado Auto Insurance Requirements and Coverage - Denver

This information is complied and provided by SegurosDeAutos.com.

The leading resources for the Spanish language community, SegurosDeAutos.com takes the lead in providing access to the best companies that provide Auto Insurance for the Latino Community℠. With access to the top auto insurance providers in every state, SegurosDeAutos.com makes it easy for anyone to find low cost auto insurance on line using the Internet access device of your choice.

The simplest way to keep your car insurance rates low is by driving safely and obeying all traffic laws. At Find the leading auto insurance companies, with great service, low rates and flexible payment plans at SegurosDeAutos.com, the specialty company providing easy access to the Spanish language market.

According to Colorado law, every owner who registers a vehicle in the state is required to maintain continuous financial responsibility.

Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility

Unlike some other states, Colorado only offers two financial responsibility options:

    • Self-service insurance is available, but only if you have 25 or more vehicles registered in your name.
    • Liability coverage, which is covered in more detail below

Liability insurance remains the popular choice with most drivers and with good reason―it's most drivers' only choice.

Colorado Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles

Here are the state's minimum liability insurance requirements:
    • $25,000―per person for bodily injury
    • $50,000―per accident for bodily injury
    • $15,000―per accident for property damage

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Although law enforcement officials have access to an insurance database, you still must produce one of the following if asked:

  • A certificate of self-insurance
  • An insurance identification card your carrier issues you
  • A letter from your insurance company, typed on company letterhead.

Driving Rules for Older Drivers

Licenses are renewed every 10 years until age 61, when drivers must begin renewing them every five years. Starting at age 66, there’s another restriction, as drivers can renew by mail only with a doctor’s or optometrist’s certification that they had passed an eye exam within six months.

Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility

Driving with no proof of insurance is considered a misdemeanor and comes with the following penalties:

Here are the state's minimum liability insurance requirements:

  • First offense―A minimum fine of $500, four points added to your driving record, and possible suspension.
  • Second offense―A minimum fine of $1,000 and a four-month suspension.
  • Third offense―A minimum fine of $1,000, community service, and an eight-month suspension.

Let SegurosDeAutos.com take the guesswork out of finding the right Auto Insurance.

Home | About Auto Insurance | Other Auto Services | Free Quote | File Claim | Blog | Sitemap
Car Insurance Requirements and Coverage
Copyright © 2015 Insurance Resources International, LLC, All Rights Reserved.
Web and Marketing Solution Created and Maintained by WSI Pro Marketing.